Home Participants Teachers


Hjördís Skírnisdóttir

Hjördís SkírnisdóttirMy name is Hjördís Skírnisdóttir and my main subjects in FAS are German and Geology. I've been teaching since 1992. During the first years I tought in primary schools, both in the capital area and here in Höfn. Since 1997 I have been teaching in the secondary school Framhaldsskólinn í Austur-Skaftafellssýslu (FAS). Since 2003 I have been taking care of foreign relations at the school.

I was born in Höfn and lived the first 16 years on a farmhouse 7 kilometers away from the town. I'm the youngest of five brothers and sisters. After primary school I needed to go to college in Reykjavík. After graduation I went to the Iceland University of Education and later I studied German and Geology at the University of Iceland. When I lived in Reykjavík I also went to the Iceland Tourist Guide School and for many years I have worked as tourist guide during school's summer recess. I mostly guide in the vicinity of Höfn. Many of the best known places in the country are in our county like: Skaftafell National Park, the ice lake Jökulsárlón and the glaciers Skálafellsjökull and Hoffellsjökull. Every year we have a lot of tourists from the whole world.

I very much like to stay with my family (a husband and a twelve years old daughter). We love going hiking and we travel a lot both in Iceland and other countries. I am looking forward to visit Lithunia and getting to know a foreign country.

Hlíf Gylfadóttir

Hlíf GylfadóttirMy name is Hlíf Gylfadóttir and I have been teaching here at FAS for the last four years, mostly history and social science.

I am originally from the Westman Islands, a town on an island just of the South coast of Iceland. My parents still live there and one of my two older sisters with her kids.

As many from smaller towns in Iceland I left for Reykjavík when it was time for college. After college I studied anthropology and later teaching. I worked in a bank and  for a few years in a museum.

I like visiting museums wherever and whenever I can. I am not much of an outdoors type even if I love the nature of my country and have a great time travelling in Iceland. My first choice for a good evening would be meeting up with friends for coffee and chat, staying in reading a good book or watching a good movie.

Jurate Rimsaite

Jurate RimsaiteHello, my name is Jurate Rimsaite. I work as a teacher of Swedish at Stasys Salkauskis Gymnasium  in my native town Siauliai where I have returned after my studies at Vilnius university. I have also studied in Sweden for one year. At school I write, arrange and implement various international projects and travel with my pupils to Sweden and other Nordic countries. Besides, I work as a translator from Swedish and English into Lithuanian and vice versa. I speak Lithuanian, English, Swedish, Russian and I can understand a bit of Danish and Norwegian.

During my free time I like swimming, watching TV, riding a bicycle or just taking a walk. I am honest, sincere, friendly and have a good sense of humour.

Neringa Čekanauskienė

My name is Neringa Čekanauskienė. I was born on 23 November, 1969. I work as a teacher of Mathematics, Economics and IT at S. Šalkauskis Gymnasium in Siauliai, Lithuania. I have two sons and one of them - Gvidas - is going to take part in this project. 

I like to travel and spend my freetime time with my friends. I can play accordion and drive a car -:)