

Lithuania - officially the Republic of Lithuaniais a country in Northern Europe, the largest of the three Baltic states. It is situated along the southeastern shore of the Baltic Sea, whereby to the west lie Sweden and Denmark. It borders Latvia to the north, Belarus to the east and south, Poland to the south, and a Russian exclave (Kaliningrad Oblast) to the southwest.



Lithuania has an estimated population of 3.2 million as of 2011, and its capital and largest city is Vilnius. The Lithuanians are a Baltic people, and the official language, Lithuanian, is one of only two living languages (together with Latvian) in the Baltic branch of the Indo-European language family.

Lithuania covers an area of 65,200 km2. The country lies between latitudes 53° and 57° N, and mostly between longitudes 21° and 27°.

Here is a presentation about Lithuania held in Siauliai in November 2011.